Zorn, John - What Thou Wilt

SKU TZ 8076
"Composed in 1999 at the turning of the millennium, Contes de Fées is one of Zorn's classical masterworks. A powerful violin concerto with a virtuosic and lyrical solo part and dramatic, colorful orchestral accompaniment, it receives its best performance to date by the Tanglewood Orchestra under the baton of Ryan McAdams and features the remarkable soloist Stephanie Nussbaum. Also included are two intense pieces of Crowleana, the bizarre and expansive solo piano piece . ? . and the whirlwind numerological miniature for three celli dedicated to the legendary new music virtuoso Fred Sherry 777, which maestro Charles Wuorinen considers one of Zorn's most remarkable works."
Stephen Drury: Piano
Erik Friedlander: Cello
Fred Sherry: Cello
Mike Nicolas: Cello
Stephanie Nussbaum: Violin

The Tanglewood Orchestra
Karin Andreasen: First Violin
Leah Arsenault: Flute
Sarah Bass: Viola
Joseph Becker: Percussion
Brent Besner: Clarinet
Zachary Boeding: Oboe
Evan Buttemer: Viola
Rosanna Butterfield: Cello
Shawn Conley: Bass
Allison Cook: Bass
Andrew Cuneo: Bassoon
Michael Dahlberg: Cello
F. Ladrón de Guevara: First Violin
Rui Du: Second Violin
Alexandra Early: First Violin
John Elliott: Tuba
Amy Galluzzo: Second Violin
Chen-Erh Ho: Viola
David Hughes: Piano
Julia Hunter: First Violin
Oya Kazuki: Percussion
Kathryn Kilian: Second Violin
Anna Lindvall: Trombone
Te-Chiang Liu: First Violin
Mary Lynch: Oboe
Joseph Maile: First Violin
Ryan McAdams: Conductor
Derek Mosloff: Viola
Tim Riley: Horn
Laura Scalzo: Second Violin
Derek Stults: Percussion
Meryl Summers: Bassoon
Charles Tyler: Cello
Tema Watstein: Second Violin
Ryan Yuré: Clarinet
Heather Zinninger: Flute
  • LabelTzadik
  • UPC702397807629
Your Price $13.00

Customer Reviews